Past Recipients of the
Bucholz Award

Scott Sims – 2021
Ogden Driskill – 2020
Albert Sommers – 2019
Kermit Brown – 2018
Jim Wilson – 2017
Patrick O’ Toole – 2016
Alan Barnett – 2015
Bobbie Frank – 2014
Mike Healy – 2013
Bob Budd – 2012
Jim Chant – 2011
Joe Glode – 2010
Dr. John Lunt – 2009
Dennis Sun – 2008



Bucholz Conservation Award

2022 Kurt Bucholz Conservation Award Recipient: Todd Heward

Heward is being recognized for his for his outstanding efforts in the conservation of water, soils, habitat and land across Wyoming.

The Bucholz Conservation Award is given in memory of the late Dr. Kurt Bucholz, DVM, rancher from Carbon County, and early supporter of the Stock Growers Land Trust. The Bucholz Conservation Award winner encompasses the agricultural stewardship values and conservation ethic that Dr. Bucholz exemplified in his life.

In his current role as the president of the Wyoming Association of Conservation Districts and as a Supervisor and District Manager on the Medicine Bow Conservation District, Todd has served the state by assisting with range improvement projects totaling more than $3.7 million dollars. He has actively supported other landowners in their efforts to conserve Wyoming’s working lands, livestock and wildlife habitat for nearly twenty years.

 “When you think of all the good and worthwhile things Todd has done on his ranching operation, and across the state – range improvement projects, conservation efforts and encouraging appropriate use of water, soil and habitat – he is very deserving of this award.” – Stacey Scott

View the official press release and Heward’s many accomplishments here.

Wyoming Stock Growers Land Trust

113 East 20th Street
PO Box 268
Cheyenne, WY 82003
P 307.772.8751 • email